The great grand society.

I will be convinced that you deserve to live, only when you prove your worth. Otherwise, I may put you down, assault you, objectify you, or even kill you.’

  •  If you somehow manage to enter this world, I will make sure to turn your life into a living hell. 
  • I may or may not provide you with education, but it hardly matters. You better focus on household chores, the corporate world is not your cup of tea.
  •  Find a job that is not demanding, because your only priority should be your family. Marriage is the ultimate goal, adjust your whole life accordingly. 
  • How dare you wear clothes of your choice? You are my puppet, and you are meant to bow your head, and follow what I say. 
  • Do not leave your house after sunset, I am not sane, and I have no control over my senses, I may exploit you. After all, it is completely human to make ‘mistakes’.
  • Pay me for leaving your parents, and for getting married, I would not find a better opportunity to make money. Not only this, also bear all the expenses of your wedding alone. Why? Because that’s how it is meant to be, don’t you dare question our customs. After marriage, I may also force myself upon you. There is no such thing as marital rape. 

 I am the ‘society’, and  I promise to leave no stone unturned in order to ruin your life. 

How does that sound to you? Monstrous, isn’t it? Reality is harsh, always. The ugliest part is, it is you and I who make the society.

To realise that female foeticide is something inhumane, or that females are equally human, what were we all waiting for? Sakshi Malik‘s medal, I suppose. Lately, everyone seems to have realised, about girl power, about how girls can achieve heights if given a chance. Perhaps, we need P.V Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, and alikes, to make us realise that females deserve to be treated as humans.  

Do not we all agree to the fact that each one of us has the right to education, and that gender has no role to play in this? So, do not make her struggle for her rights, just because she is woman.

Marriage is a part of life, it is in no way the ultimate goal of life. Do not ask her to make adjustments with her education and career, just because she is a woman, in order to present her as a perfect marriage material. Sharing the responsibilities of the house would in no way dwindle the maleness of a man.

When you tell a woman that she needs to know how to cook, that should not be because of her gender, but because no one of us can live without food, and knowing to cook would make her a little more independent. 

Believe me, alcohol is not biased, like us. It would harm women and men equally. So, the next time you ask her not to drink, that should again not be because of her gender. 

 Today, I make an audacious attempt to ask you something, and by you I refer to the society. Is man a material who has been put up for auction? No? Then why on earth, do you think that a woman has to pay him for getting married? Where does his male-ego go when he shamelessly spreads his hands before ‘her‘ parents and puts himself on sale, in the name of customs and traditions? I refuse to  succumb to such customs, I refuse to call him a man, he is no more than a unscrupulous person whose ego has been boosted by people who are blinded by customs. Also remember, if a man ever stoops to harassing a woman, he should cease to call himself a man from that day. 

This should not be perceived as feminism. That is a controversial term. I am talking about something very basic. Is it not possible that each one of us is treated equally, irrespective of our gender? 

Despite being a female I stand against feminism, whose definition has been distorted to suit our needs. Females should neither be given undue privileges, nor should they be made to regret their gender. I implore, do not respect females because of their gender, also don’t pity them for belonging to the weaker sex. Rather, treat them as you would treat any human. Women are niether inferior nor superior to men, they are equal. We did not get a chance to choose our gender, did we? It is not a mistake to be a female, do not punish her for something she didn’t even get to choose. In case, you were waiting for me to tell you that a woman is as much of a human as a man is, I have done that.

(Only if we all could manage to be a little more humane.)

Leave a Reply

